Jonsson School Launches Executive Council

By Daniel Steele  |  March 22, 2019

In late 2017, the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science created the school’s first Executive Council. Composed of distinguished alumni, trusted corporate partners, current faculty and students, this council serves Jonsson School leadership in an advisory capacity and advocates for the school’s success throughout the Dallas community and beyond.

“I am truly very thankful for everyone who has volunteered their time and resources to help us achieve our goals,” said Dr. Poras Balsara, interim dean of the Jonsson School. “As we look toward the future, everyone has a key role to play.”

Executive Council members quickly demonstrated their investment in the Jonsson School’s mission. Within the first six months of the council’s formation, every member had made a new gift to the school — including a number of generous major gifts. Contributions from Executive Council members have had an immediate impact on the school’s top priorities through the creation of new endowed scholarships, opportunity funds, and gifts for student and research support.

Annette Watkins, chair of the Executive Council and vice president of U.S. Trust, established an unrestricted endowed fund that offers school leadership the flexibility needed to respond to changing priorities in the future.

“The Dallas area needs the Jonsson School, and the Jonsson School needs to expand its reach in the community in order to sustain its current momentum,” Watkins said. “This council will help diversify the school’s appeal and broaden its impact.”

Jonsson School Executive Council

Honorary Chairs
Philip and Diane Jonsson
The Philip R. Jonsson Foundation

Annette Watkins
U.S. Trust, Bank of America

Vice Chair
Neel Gonuguntla
U.S. India Chamber of Commerce

Satyajit P. Doctor (Doc) MS’91
Award Solutions

Jim Hellums PhD’00
Texas Instruments

Tahir Hussain BS’94
Collide Village

Lou Hutter
Lou Hutter Consulting

Rahul Kukreti BS’01, MS’02

Veronica Lewis
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher

Sean Minter

Vinod Nanu

Farooq A. Tayab
Norton Rose Fulbright US

Yi Zhao MS’92, PhD’96
Huawei R&D, USA

UT Dallas Members

Pat Dayton
Graduate Student Representative

Robert Gregg
Fellow, Eugene McDermott Professor

Neel Reddy
McDermott Scholar

Walter Voit BS’05, MS’06
Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering

UT Dallas Ex Officio Members

Poras Balsara
Interim Dean, Jonsson School

Inga Musselman
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Kyle Edgington PhD’13
Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations

Chris Bhatti MA’06
Assistant Dean for Development and Alumni Relations, Jonsson School

Relevance: Community, Momentum